College Tennis in Southern California - USTA Southern California



College Tennis 101

Throughout the history of tennis, some of the game’s all-time greats developed their skills under the spotlight of collegiate programs in Southern California. Names like Arthur Ashe, Stan Smith, and Jimmy Connors are legendary figures within SoCal’s storied tennis history, while the likes of Stevie Johnson, Danielle Lao, and Marcos Giron continued the tradition before competing in today’s professional tours.

Find a Program

To learn more about Southern California tennis programs, including NCAA, NJCAA, NAIA, and CCCAA, use the links below to reach the school’s athletics home page.

Find more on college tennis nationwide – including NCAA Guides and Tennis on Campus – at

NCAA Division I

California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo

California State Polytechnic University-Pomona

California State University-Fullerton

California State University-Long Beach

California State University-San Bernardino

Loyola Marymount University

Mount Saint Mary’s University

Pepperdine University

San Diego State University

University Of California-Irvine

University Of California-Los Angeles

University Of California-Riverside

University Of California-San Diego

University Of California-Santa Barbara

University Of San Diego

University Of Southern California

California State University, Bakersfield

California State University, Northridge

NCAA Division II

Azusa Pacific University

California State University-Los Angeles

Concordia University-Irvine

Point Loma Nazarene University

NCAA Division III

California Institute Of Technology

California Lutheran University

CMS (Claremont McKenna College, Harvey Mudd College, Scripps College)

Occidental College

Pomona Pitzer College

University Of Redlands

Whittier College

Chapman University


Antelope Valley College

Bakersfield College

Biola University

Long Beach City College

Rio Hondo College

San Diego Mesa College

Santa Monica College


Hope International University

Westmont College


Intercollegiate Tennis Association

The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) is the governing body of college tennis, overseeing men’s and women’s varsity tennis at all levels – NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and Junior/Community College. 

The ITA hosts regional and national competitions throughout the school year, most notably the Oracle Fall Indoor Championships and Oracle Masters, the National Indoor Championships, and the All American Championships. Some are held right here in Southern California and bring some of the nation’s finest college players and future pro tour stars to our Section. 

For more information, visit the ITA website.

ITA Alumni Network

USTA Southern California also partners with the ITA to support the new ITA Alumni Network. This online resource helps college tennis alumni stay connected after graduation. USTA SoCal is pleased to partner with ITA Alumni Network on various tennis and networking events throughout the Section.